Archive for October 22, 2008

Chester the Bear

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , on October 22, 2008 by jddennis

My mom love teddy bears. As long as I can remember, we’ve had them scattered throughout the house, not as playthings, but as decorations. So, I guess it’s kind of natural that a couple of them have shown up in my sketchbook from time to time. This one, according to my dad, is Chester. He typically lives on the den couch, but I brought him up to the dining room for this particular piece. 

I’m actually fairly happy with the way this turned out, especially the face. It’s actually a pretty close approximation of him. I used a Pilot EasyTouch ballpoint pen to do the sketch, and I was glad with its responsiveness. I had tried a Pilot G-2 07 ballpoint gel pen earlier this evening, and was less than satisfied with the results. 

There are some things that I think could use improvement, of course. For example, I think the shadows could  be better. There’s no real clear delineation on Chester’s torso at all, and the piece suffers from it. I wish I’d brought the folds out in the tie a bit more, but like I wrote yesterday, that’s an area I need to improve on overall.